One more “now I know.”

January 6, 2008

Okay, well Starbucks Chai Tea Latte makes me sick.  Ugh.  I asked, they said they were pretty sure it was gluten-free, so I took a risk.  One more thing added to the *Not-For-Sarah* list.  I’m not sure if I mentioned this yet, but all Celestial Seasonings Teas are Gluten-Free.  ❤  Hurrah.

Anyways, I went shopping the past two days… once at Walmart, then again at the Gluten Free Store.  Bought a bunch of fresh fruits and cheeses, meats and random things from Walmart, then got some interesting things from the Gluten-Free Store.  Kinnickinnick’s waffles (the one’s a mentioned previously kicked a lot of butt) also make a Cheese Bread that I picked up.  Still hesitant to try it, but it’s something new.  Also got some Sesame Bagels to try with my fruit spread I bought.  I’ll let ya’ll know about that later.

The more I research recipes, and tweak them, the easier it gets.  What I’ve come to realize is that this disease does suck, but at the same time, if you’re willing to cook real meals for yourself instead of buying pre-made at the store, it’s a lot easier, as well as a lot less expensive.

Oh.  Ps.  Brown Rice Cereal rocks (just like kashi)

Advertisements

3 Responses to “One more “now I know.””

  1. sleepknitting Says:

    Hey, same here. I too am Coeliac and I can’t tolerate Starbucks Chai tea latte! I live in the UK and I find the Starbucks staff are not very knowledgeable about their products – They sell a ‘gluten-free, wheat free’ orange cake, but according to their website its not suitable for Coeliacs!

  2. rubyredgirl Says:

    It could be that the milk in the latte is what is bothering you. A lot of newly diagnosed Celiacs are temporarily lactose intolerant – a side effect of the ruination of our intestines. It will go away as your intestines heal. 🙂

  3. pastrymom Says:

    Starbucks’ chai latte (which I love, crave, had been drinking 1x a day it seems forever) is not gluten free. I’ve been off it for a week and feel way better. I got an email back from Tazo (the manufacturer) which reads as follows:

    Tazo is committed to providing a safe, natural product that meets all regulatory and food safety requirements. While we understand that some customers may have a need to know specific ingredient information not listed on the ingredient panel prior to consuming a product, our flavor information is proprietary, and not something we reveal.
    If you have concerns about a tea possibly containing ingredients that you do no wish to consume, we would recommend that you not consume that tea and instead try a different flavor. Below is a list of Tazo teas that contain only tea or botanicals and no added natural flavors:
    Awake Filterbags
    China Green Tips Filterbags
    Organic Darjeeling Filterbags
    Organic Green Filterbags
    Organic Tazo Chai Filterbags
    Refresh Filterbags (caffeine-free)
    Organic Iced Black Tea Ready to Drink

    WHY COULDN’T THEY JUST SAY IT’S NOT GF? (because they don’t want to reveal that it has malt flavoring?)
    Anyway, I’m so sad. Starbucks’ Tazo chai was my life preserver!
    Good luck & great blog!
    All the best,
    A former pastry chef & mom of 2, who found out she is celiac in October


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: